Faheem and Fakhar seal Series for Pakistan

The Proteas’ summer drew to a disappointing end on Friday after they fell to a three-wicket defeat to Pakistan in the final KFC T20 International and with it lost the series 3-1 at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

Faheem Ashraf and Fakhar Zaman lead the way for the tourists, the former claiming three wickets and the latter recording a blistering half-century, before a slight wobble in between victory being sealed.

After winning the toss and asking South Africa to bat, the home side again made a promising start by reaching 109 for two thanks to Rassie van der Dussen’s dashing 52 (36 balls, 5 fours, 2 sixes). However, they then collapsed to 144 all out in 19.3 overs with Faheem grabbing three for 17.

Fakhar was then outstanding in the reply and plundered 60 off 34 balls (5 fours, 4 sixes) to help his side reach 92 for one at one stage. The home side did fight back through Sisanda Magala (2/33), Tabraiz Shamsi (1/21) and Andile Phehlukwayo (1/11) but Mohammad Nawaz’s unbeaten 25 sealed victory with a delivery to spare.

That concluded another disappointing showing by the South Africans as Pakistan completed the double – they also won the ODI leg of the tour.

They were on top for most of this game too as Aiden Markram fell early for 11. But Janneman Malan (33) and Van der Dussen put on 57 for the second wicket, before Heinrich Klaasen (9) helped take the score to 109 in the 13th over.

But they imploded badly from there, losing eight for 35 to be dismissed with three balls of the innings to spare.

In addition Faheem, Hasan Ali collected three for 40.

The reply was ominous from the visitors when Fakhar and Babar Azam (24) got going following the rare early loss of Mohammad Rizwan for a duck, Bjorn Fortuin (1/26) striking in his first match of the series.

Pakistan were closing in on 100 in the 10th over when Lizaad Williams (2/39) finally broke the stand, sparking a collapse that saw five wickets fall for 23.

That opened the door slightly for the home side and they kept the pressure on bravely to take it to the last over, before a Nawaz six sealed victory for his side.

Proteas T20I squad: Heinrich Klaasen (captain, wicket-keeper, Momentum Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (Imperial Lions), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Imperial Lions), George Linde (Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Janneman Malan (Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras), Sisanda Magala (Imperial Lions), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Lutho Sipamla (Imperial Lions), Kyle Verreynne (Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras), Pite van Biljon (VKB Knights), Daryn Dupavillon (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Migael Pretorius (VKB Knights), Lizaad Williams (Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras), Wihan Lubbe (Warriors).

Schedule: Pakistan Men’s Tour to South Africa

Friday, 02 April at 10:00 SAST
1st Betway ODI (CWCSL) – South Africa lost to Pakistan by 3 wickets – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Sunday, 04 April at 10:00 SAST
2nd Betway ODI (CWCSL) – South Africa beat Pakistan by 17 runs – Imperial Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (Pink Day)

Wednesday, 07 April at 10:00 SAST
3rd Betway ODI (CWCSL) – South Africa lost to Pakistan by 28 runs – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Saturday, 10 April at 14:30 SAST
1st KFC T20I – South Africa lost to Pakistan by 4 wickets – Imperial Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Monday, 12 April at 14:30 SAST
2nd KFC T20I – South Africa beat Pakistan by 6 wickets – Imperial Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Wednesday, 14 April at 14:30 SAST
3rd KFC T20I – South Africa lost to Pakistan by 9 wickets – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Friday, 16 April at 14:30 SAST
4th KFC T20I – South Africa lost to Pakistan by 3 wickets – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications