Team Announcements: Emirates Lions and Xerox Golden Lions

Team Announcements: Emirates Lions and Xerox Golden Lions
Emirates Lions vs Cell C Sharks: 22 July 2017 @ 14:30

Ruan Combrinck will reach the milestone of 50 Super Rugby caps when he runs out at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday for the Vodacom Super Rugby quarter final against the Cell C Sharks.

The same team will run out against the Sharks as last weekend.

Other Super Rugby stats up to date include:

Elton Jantjies is the overall leading point scorer in Super Rugby 2017 with 166 points. His 47 conversions for the Super Lions is also a new Lions record for a Super year, breaking his record of 44 conversions in 2016. He also played in his 84th match for the Lions Super franchise, breaking Franco van der Merwe’s record of 83 appearances.

The 2017 team has scored 81 tries thus far, equalling the 2016 record of 81 team tries, with play-offs remaining.

Kick-off is at 14:30.

Entertainment by Monark and Daniel Baron before the match will start at 13:00 in the beer garden.

Ticket prices are R60, R100, R160 and R275 and are available from Computicket, and at the stadium on match day.

Jacques van Rooyen
Malcolm Marx
Ruan Dreyer
Andries Ferreira
Franco Mostert
Jaco Kriel ©
Kwagga Smith
Ruan Ackermann
Ross Cronje
Elton Jantjies
Courtnall Skosan
Harold Vorster
Lionel Mapoe
Ruan Combrinck
Andries Coetzee

Akker vd Merwe
Corne Fourie
Johannes Jonker
Lourens Erasmus
Cyle Brink
Faf de Klerk
Rohan Janse van Rensburg
Sylvian Mahuza

Kankowksi to lead Xerox Golden Lions

Ryan Kankowski will lead the Xerox Golden Lions when they take on the Steval Pumas in Nelspruit in the Currie Cup on Sunday.

Kankowski joined the Lions from the Sharks recently and his experience and leadership in the absence of the senior players still entrenched in Vodacom Super Rugby will be a big boost for the side.

The bulk of the Supersport Rugby Challenge side has been retained for the Currie Cup in the interim while Vodacom Super Rugby is still underway.

The same coaching staff of Bafana Nhleko, Wessel Roux and Herkie Kruger will take charge of the Currie Cup side under the tutorship of newly appointed head coach Swys de Bruin.

Xerox Golden Lions vs Steval Pumas:

Sti Sithole
Pieter Jansen
Andrew Beerwinkel
Marvin Orie
Rhyno Herbst
James Venter
Jano Venter
Ryan Kankowski ©
Marco Jansen van Vuren
Shaun Reynolds
Aphiwe Dyantyi
Jarryd Sage
Stokkies Hanekom
Madosh Tambwe
Ashlon Davids

Mike Willemse
Nico du Plessis
Bobby de Wee
Hacjivah Dayimani
Fabian Booysen
Bradley Thain
Jan-Louis la Grange